The WAEVE’s sophomore album, ‘City Lights’

Pre-order here


The WAEVE – composed of Graham Coxon and Rose Elinor Dougall – today announced details of their second studio album City Lights, set for release on 20th September 2024.

A year on from their acclaimed eponymous debut album, The WAEVE is back with City Lights, a collection of 10 songs that illustrate the evolution of their collaborative musicianship and sees the band’s sound solidified into something bolder, more expansive and self-assured.  The agitated, art-rock squall of first single, and title track, ‘City Lights’ is followed by the anthemic and expansive second single ‘You Saw.’

Graham and Rose said of the track – You Saw’ is a song about acknowledging how seemingly tiny decisions can have a seismic impact on the course of one’s life, how sometimes it feels like the way things turn out are predestined. It’s about reconciling a past version with the new version of one’s self and being grateful for how things work out. It’s built around a rhythmic string line to reflect the sense of propulsive forward motion.”

Written by Graham Coxon and Rose Elinor Dougall, and produced once again by James Ford, City Lights features Graham and Rose on vocals, as well as keyboards, guitar, bass guitar, drums and saxophone.

To celebrate the release of City Lights, The WAEVE will play three very special live performances at Rough Trade, as follows: Rough Trade Liverpool on 20th September; Rough Trade Nottingham on 21st September; and Rough Trade Bristol on 23rd September. 

The band will play their biggest headline show to date at Village Underground, London on 29th October later this year. Ahead of that, The WAEVE will be on tour this summer, playing support on Elbow’s UK tour; as well as a number of festival dates.