The WAEVE return with a new Single, ‘City Lights’


A year on from The WAEVE’s acclaimed eponymous debut album, City Lights is the first single taken from their forthcoming, soon-to-be-announced, sophomore album. Written by Graham Coxon and Rose Elinor Dougall, and produced by James Ford, City Lights features Graham and Rose on vocals, as well as keyboards, guitar, bass guitar, drums and saxophone.

Speaking about the new song, Graham and Rose said – “The city lights bestow a unique magic on everyone – the beautiful and the grotesque, the angels and the devils – shining and seductive, one and all… Who wants to love you and who wants to destroy you?”

With the release of their acclaimed eponymous debut album in February 2023, The WAEVE established themselves as a songwriting partnership to watch, with a body of work that was “…ambitiously structured, lovingly arranged… unhurriedly crafted songs full of bona fide thrills, unexpected twists, and an elegant but never gratuitous grandeur.” (UNCUT); a collection of tracks… ”Cinematic in scope, often luscious in its arrangements, it’s a singular gem.” (DIY).

Now, after a year of touring and studio sessions, The WAEVE are back with a track that illustrates the evolution of their collaborative musicianship, allowing this meeting of musical minds to further push the boundaries of their individual creativity.

The WAEVE will play a sold out show at London’s Hoxton Hall this Friday 3rd May ahead of a string of live dates this summer, including support on Elbow’s UK tour starting on 7th May in Brighton; as well as a number of festival dates around the country.

Elbow UK Tour:
Tickets and information here.

7 May – Brighton
9 May – London O2
10 May – Birmingham
11 May – Glasgow
12 May – Leeds
14 May – Manchester
15 May – Nottingham
4 August – Audley End

Additional UK dates:
23 June – Isle of Wight
30 June – Bristol Sounds (supporting The Breeders)
21 July – Warwick Castle (supporting Noel Gallagher)
17 August – Green Man Festival (Wales)