Wesley Joseph Shares New Single, ‘Hiatus’


Fast rising multi-talent Wesley Joseph returns today with an evocative new single, “HIATUS”. The newest track marks the first taste of fresh music for 2023 and is included on the kaleidoscopic “GLOW” project, set for release on the 17th February 2022 via revered independent record-label Secretly Canadian.

“HIATUS” is forward-facing and steeped in rich sound-design, skittering drum production and downcast chords lay beneath Joseph’s sombre lyricism. An exemplary piece of music, it starts off sounding like a late-night walk through a haunted city before building to a cathartic minor-key peak, once again showcasing this ascending artist’s depth and character, artfully pacing between hard-hitting bars and soul-baring moments of falsetto. The new single arrives following Joseph’s recent COLORS session, watch HERE.

Wesley details in his own words: “Hiatus is the narrative and conclusion of growing pains, a teenager talking to his future self and his future self talking back. I started making the beat for the song in my old bedroom last summer with Emil – chopping up samples Lexxx had made on his Bronze software. I then took the song in its infancy to Leon Vynehall – we had multiple long nights at his studio together fleshing it out, and with each hour that went by it felt more significant and substantial. I freestyled the first verse, and found that I’d actually written the most part of it back in Walsall years ago. The perspective is from my angrier and darker teenage self, caught in a small town and needing an escape. It felt like a time capsule moment, and gave me the context to write the second verse as I feel in the present – clearer and more empowered. Sam Beste came by to play some beautiful synth chords and piano on the song, and Dave Okumu’s guitars gave us the final sparkle. Once the contrast of both verses felt right musically and lyrically the song was finished.

Recording a COLORS session for the song was a brief but fun 24 hour experience. Every time music allows me to see the world it’s an energising thing but this was a particularly humbling experience”

“HIATUS” follows the release of the singles “MONSOON”, (masterfully produced in collaboration with A.K Paul) and “COLD SUMMER”. Both will feature on ‘GLOW’, eight songs of love, loss, anxiety, and joy about coming of age at a time of unprecedented change. Showcasing his range across songwriting, performing, and production—not to mention his flawless transitions between singing and rapping, between character studies and raw emotional honesty—it’s a stunningly beautiful work that makes it clear Joseph’s on the path to becoming a world-changing talent.

2021 saw Joseph release his debut project “ULTRAMARINE” to critical acclaim, earning accolades across the music and fashion worlds, including the likes of AnOther Man, The Face, The Fader, The Guardian, GQ, i-D, NME, Pigeons & Planes, Vogue and more. Previous collaborators are broad ranging and expertly selected, including Jorja Smith, Loyle Carner, A.K. Paul, Joy Orbison, Leon Vynehall and Dave Okumu. 2022 was another standout year; Joseph was listed in Vevo’s Artists To Watch 2023, nominated for an AIM award nomination and was featured on Loyle Carner’s lauded new album “hugo”. Joseph shows no sign of slowing down this year, starring in Apple Music’s ‘Ones To Watch 2023’ list, DIY Magazine’s Class of 23’, i Newspaper’s Stars For 2023 and a BBC Radio 1 Future Artist inclusion.

Alongside the new song and COLORS session release, fresh headline shows have been teased today, including details of Wesley’s first ever North American dates this spring. So far the only details revealed are highlighted cities in the UK, US and Canada – specifically London, New York, Toronto and LA – taking place tentatively between April / May 2023, with fans encouraged to sign up at Wesley’s mailing list, to be first in line for further details and ticket information being announced in the next few days. The dates will mark the first headline appearances from Wesley Joseph following his sold out debut London performance at XOYO in May last year, which featured a surprise guest appearance from Jorja Smith. Wesley Joseph will additionally be joining Loyle Carner’s UK & Ireland tour in February and March (full list of dates below).

With the release of “GLOW” on the horizon it is clear Joseph is on the path to becoming a stratospheric talent.


Wesley Joseph live dates below:

* supporting Loyle Carner


19 Feb – Vicar Street, Dublin *

20 Feb – Vicar Street, Dublin *

21 Feb – Vicar Street, Dublin *

23 Feb – O2 City Hall, Newcastle *

24 Feb – The Mountford Hall, Liverpool *

25 Feb – O2 Victoria Warehouse, Manchester *

27 Feb – O2 Academy, Glasgow *

28 Feb – O2 Academy, Sheffield *

02 March – The Nick Rayns LCR UEA, Norwich *

03 March – O2 Academy, Leicester *

05 March – Brighton Dome, Brighton *

06 March – Nottingham, Rock City *

08 March – O2 Academy, Birmingham *

09 March – O2 Academy, Bournemouth *

11 March – University Great Hall, Cardiff *

12 March – O2 Academy, Bristol *

15 March – Eventim Apollo, London *

16 March – Wembley OVO Arena, London *